Behind the Scenes - Meet Antonio!

Meet the Staff!

Written by
The MurCal Blogster
Published on
October 7, 2022 1:38:07 PM PDT October 7, 2022 1:38:07 PM PDTth, October 7, 2022 1:38:07 PM PDT

This Month We Meet Antonio Torres!

Q. How long have you been at MurCal?

A. 3 months at this point

Q. What is your position/role at MurCal?

A. Engineering intern 

Q. What do you love most about your job and why?

A. I'm only 3 months in and I've gotten to complete multiple harness designs, one of which was pretty complicated, and I've also done a lot of different types of programming.

This kind of experience and independence is exceptional for an internship and is something I'm really glad to get out of my experience here.

Q. How would you describe your job to a bunch of kindergarteners?

A. I make engines work by harnessing the powers of electricity 

Q. Tell us a little about yourself:

A. I grew up where MurCal is based, and I met Bob through my biggest hobby, Cycling. Outside of school and work, it's a huge part of my lifestyle.

Once I graduated high school, my parents moved to Florida and I left the Antelope Valley to Cleveland, Ohio (and the UK to visit my brother for an online semester) to start my mechanical engineering degree at Case Western Reserve University and have been there for 2 years.

I'm currently taking a semester off to complete a longer-term internship here at MurCal, then I will finish my education elsewhere probably in-state. 

Q. Three words which best describe you:

A. - Travelled - Independent - Cyclist 🚴

Q. Your most memorable/rewarding MurCal experience?

A. Finishing up the design on the aforementioned complicated harness design. It took many hours at the computer and lots of talking to people, and many weeks later I was able to watch it become a real thing getting put on a generator. 

Q. Fun fact about you?

A. I've been to 40/50 states 

Q. What place in the world would you like to visit?

A. I want to visit the Alps. The cycling is great, and I love mountains. 

Q. What is the coolest place you have ever visited?

A. I'm leaning mostly to Denver, but there's lots of close seconds

Q. Do you have any hidden talents?

A. I play piano. It always seems to be something people find out about me surprisingly late into knowing them.

Q. Do you have any hobbies?

A. Cycling, working on bicycles, did I mention cycling?

Q. Do you have any pets?

A. I currently live with my brother who owns 2 Conures (Small Parrots), 2 Sugar Gliders (Palm-sized Possums), 2 dogs and a cat 🙀.

Q. Favorite Movies?

A. Star Wars

Q. Favorite TV shows?

A. Breaking Bad, Malcolm in the Middle

Q. Favorite Food?

A. Love sweet stuff, same with sour. Sour candy, fruity candy, fruit in general, and I also love peanut butter-based food/snack

Q. Who Inspires You?

A. Lately, watching athletes come back from major injuries (especially cyclists) and doing their all-time best performances inspires me. (I've been off the bike due to an injury)

Q. Which celebrity would you like to meet?

A. I'd love to meet any cyclist after they win a grand tour, of which the latest would-be Remco Evenepoel!


Don't Miss a Thing!!! 🤩 

Subscribe to our newsletter, follow us on InstagramLinkedInTwitter, and Facebook to keep up to date with our latest News, Sales, Trends and more! Don't forget to check out our Blog archives for more expert informational content.